A life of health and wellness…with kids!

Project 333: A long time coming

2 Comments

333

I have been thinking a lot the past few months about simplifying my life so that I have more time for me, more time to be with my family and more time to get everything done. One of the things that I would love to simplify is my wardrobe. I have lots and lots of clothes – and most of them seem to live on my bedroom floor – clean or unclean – 90% of the time.

I want to spend less time doing washing.

I find I avoid doing my own washing because I know that it is going to take me about an hour to put all my clothes away and another hour to do the ironing.So because I avoid washing I wear everything I own until I have nothing left to wear – and then I have to spend an entire afternoon and evening putting away and ironing. That is not how I want to spend my time on a weekend!

I want to think less about getting dressed in the morning – know that I have a planned outfit or two in the closet that will look great.

I first discovered project 333 a few years ago and have attempted to get my wardrobe down to 33 items a number of times over the past few years. However every time I have tried I have found a reason not to just get on with it – the biggest reason being that I didn’t seem to have enough things that mixed and matched to get the who  process happening properly – and for me to have enough variety in what I wear.

This Christmas just gone (in an attempt to commence the simplification process) I have done lots of cleaning out and assessment of just what I have in the way of clothes. About two weeks ago I did a major edit and got my wardrobe down to about 60 items that I wear regularly.

Just this morning I have narrowed down the 33 items that will see me thorough the new few months until it starts to get chilly here in Canberra. Surprisingly with this slow process I have found it to be more simple than before – although I have figured out my wardrobe to mix and match a little better I feel also (with thanks to Pinterest and instagram!)

I’m not one for outfit posts but I may take pics of my 33 items and post them here and I might be able to talk my 6 year old into learning how to take a photo or two over the next few months.

Here is my list of 33 items.

1. Black Cardigan

2.Grey Cardigan

3. Red Cardigan

4. Black Blazer

5. Blue linen t-shirt

6. White linen t-shirt

7. stripe t-shirt

8. Black t-shirt

9. Black pencil skirt

10. Print pencil skirt (colourful)

11. Long floral skirt

12. Denim Skirt

13. Black shorts

14. White Shorts

15. Green canvas Skirt

15. Black work slacks

16. Skinny Jeans

17. Bootleg jeans

18. Black blouse

19. Black and white floral blouse

20. Black and white jersey dress

21. Purple and green jersey dress

22. White and black jersey dress

23. Purple and black jersey dress

24. Yellow handbag

25. Black handbag

26. silver tiffany necklace

27. Silver slides

28. Yellow loafers

29. Black patent ballet flats

30. Black court shoes

31. Neutral flat shoes

32. Red resin necklace

33. Yellow resin necklace

The only caveat I have is that I will also allow myself to wear items that I have made by hand in my wardrobe selections. I have a few items floating around that I have made that I do wear quite often and it would be a shame to have these things hiding away in the closet and it’s not like it is 100 dresses or anything like that. Just a few handmade blouses and dresses and knitted shawls.

If you would like to check out my instagram account to see if I have managed to post any outfits pics please check out @Andjxx on instagram. But I am sure they will get posed here eventually as well 🙂

Author: Andjxx

Through this blog I hope to inspire and motivate mums to raise happy and healthy kids and be happy in themselves in the most organic way possible. I write about wellness, attachment parenting, yoga and meditation, and whole food nutrition for both busy mums and families. I am a mam of two sweet boys, H Boy and Baby B. We live life with a healthy and natural approach to living and support breastfeeding, baby wearing, baby led solids, and an overall down to earth way of life. I hope you enjoy our world!

2 thoughts on “Project 333: A long time coming

  1. How are you going with your clothes dilemma? When I read this this morning, sorry I know it’s months late! I got a flashback to me a few years ago.
    Now, I have a smallish dirty washing basket in a corner. I throw all dirty clothes into it and put them into the washing basket when full. Woollens I wash by hand. I put things in the dryer unless it’s very warm outside. Don’t buy things that need ironing if you can help it.
    This has enabled me to keep on top of washing. When the family stays, I do have to wash every day. When it’s just the two of us, twice a week is manageable.
    Good luck!

Share the love and tell me what you think! !

