A life of health and wellness…with kids!

How does my Garden Grow? October 13th – 19th

1 Comment

homegrown peas

The Garden is making me so Happy right now!

I know that the beginning of spring is usually a time when people feel a bit despondent about the produce (or lack there of) that is coming from the garden but as this is the first time in 3 years that I have had a productive vegetable garden, it is making my heart sing.

homegrown produce

 

I brought in the last of the Broccolli this week – a crop which I planted with no expectations of actually eating anything from the planting – purely just to fill a gap in the garden over winter. The peas are being extra abundant this year – and the chickens are still warming up to the fact that it is spring. We getting 3 – 4 eggs every two days at the moment.

The greens garden is now empty of Kale – which all went to seed at the first hint of heat – and was fed to the chickens, but the spinach is still going very well and I am enjoying it in my green smoothies.

spinach

I planted Calendula all through the veggie garden – both for a touch of colour and to attract some beneficial insects to the garden. They are just starting to flower now and while I should be collecting the flowers to save the petals for Calendula Salve (For Little B’s eczema) – I am just enjoying the flowers right now.

gareden

 

I have been very organised this year and have created a fenced area for the veggie garden – just in case those pesky chickens escape – at least they won’t be able to get in to the main veggie beds. I am planting my pumpkin plants into compost at the far end of the picture also. The cabbages at the top of the picture have been totally eaten by cabbage moth caterpillars and have also gone to seed – so they will be being pulled out soon and replaced with something else – not 100% sure what yet.

seedlings

Last but not least are the babies – waiting patiently to be put into the garden one the chances of frost have passed. I planted a few tomato plants into big pots to allow them to grow big prior to planting out this year and it has been a successful strategy so far. The plants are doing really well. In there I also have some Chilli, Capsicums, and eggplant. I may end up keeping one or two eggplant in a pot – just to see how they go. I have a few varieties of Tomato planned this year. I will save that for a future post.

How is your garden growing this spring? Trying your hand at something new?

Andjxx

 

Author: Andjxx

Through this blog I hope to inspire and motivate mums to raise happy and healthy kids and be happy in themselves in the most organic way possible. I write about wellness, attachment parenting, yoga and meditation, and whole food nutrition for both busy mums and families. I am a mam of two sweet boys, H Boy and Baby B. We live life with a healthy and natural approach to living and support breastfeeding, baby wearing, baby led solids, and an overall down to earth way of life. I hope you enjoy our world!

One thought on “How does my Garden Grow? October 13th – 19th

  1. We are getting loads of peas right now too! None of my brassicas did anything over winter but they are starting to grow, I just hope we can get a crop before the heat hits. Our herbs are just exploding and it is hard to keep up with picking them. I planted some tomato seeds a few weeks ago but nothing germinated – not sure what is up with that as they were fresh seed. What I am most excited about is seeing how our purple potatoes grow. I hope we get a good crop of those.

Share the love and tell me what you think! !

