A life of health and wellness…with kids!

The Trials and Tribulations of Losing Weight

Leave a comment

Willpower and weightloss

So it has been about a month since I started on this fitness kick and things were going really well. I had some ups and downs over the course of the month and things were going quite well – I had lost about 3.5 kg. Then…sometime last Thursday it all went to pot.  I can’t really pinpoint what was the trigger but  I do remember that it started with being tired. Extraordinarily tired. Perhaps I overdid it last week – or something along those lines. I have found that I find it difficult to fit in all the different bits of exercise that I want to do. I want to do strength training so as not to lose muscle mass through cardio. I want to do Cardio because thats what I enjoy. I need to play Hockey on a Sunday afternoon. I want to ride my bike on the weekends. Problem is – it’s all too much – and perhaps I was pushing a little too hard.

The food thing is also proving challenging to me – as it seems that I have developed an intolerance to wheat and dairy (at least Milk based things apart from Yoghurt – I seem to be able to tolerate Yoghurt). Now I have fallen into complete denial – I will not be denied these foods that are so good – binge eating – for the past 5 days.

I don’t even want to look at the scale. I had been weighing myself daily – but I am not going to do that anymore as I tend to obsess over the number – I feel as though it is a trigger for me. I have bought some Tanita body fat % scales because in reality I don’t care what the weight in kilos or pounds is – I care about seeing the BF% number go down.

The thing is – I have been seeing improvements in other areas – such as strength and endurance – going ahead in leaps and bounds. I have managed to get my Parkrun PB for 5km down to 29min 15sec – that means in six weeks I have knocked about 4 and a half minutes off my PB – an awesome improvement given that the only actual running that I have been doing is Parkrun – the rest of the Cardio I have been doing is on the bike or HIIT at the Gym. The other thing I noticed is how much easier it was to run that PB this past Saturday – when I was fully loaded with Carbohydrates and had relatively fresh legs from not training the previous two days.

Now I have a dilemma because I want to run – I want to commit myself to running a half marathon later in the year – but I also want to strength train – but for the specific purpose of building strength for running – I also still have about 10kg to lose – and running makes you hungry….Very hungry.

So I think the bottom line is that I was trying to do too much – especially when I add work into the mix – and if I want to make gains in speed and train for a half marathon then the extensive strength training has to go to the side and the running specific training has to take precedence.

I would also like to post here about my training more often – particularly about learning to manage these apparent food difficulties and balancing it all with two very demanding small children and my work. All I can do is try.

Andjxx

Author: Andjxx

Through this blog I hope to inspire and motivate mums to raise happy and healthy kids and be happy in themselves in the most organic way possible. I write about wellness, attachment parenting, yoga and meditation, and whole food nutrition for both busy mums and families. I am a mam of two sweet boys, H Boy and Baby B. We live life with a healthy and natural approach to living and support breastfeeding, baby wearing, baby led solids, and an overall down to earth way of life. I hope you enjoy our world!

Share the love and tell me what you think! !

