A life of health and wellness…with kids!

Who Inspires You?

1 Comment

Bird Soaring

With mothers day coming up this weekend, there seems to be many many posts on parenting, mothers, mothering etc etc flooding the blogging world.

Silly Talented Blogger that I am, I hadn’t even thought about putting up a post about the commercial entity that is mothers day. You see – we don’t celebrate Mothers Day. Sure, I will give my mum a call and see how she is going – but then I do that on most Sundays. I will get jumped all over in bed by my two devilish charming little boys – but that happens every day.

What I want to blog about in the lead up to Mothers day is the person who has made the biggest difference in my life – the person who inspired me to soar.

My Mum.

When I was growing up (and occasionally when I was a grown up) I didn’t have the greatest amounts of confidence in my own abilities. I blame my first born, pedantic, perfectionist tendencies.

I blame the fact that I was achingly aware of the fact that we had very little money as a family, that we were somehow different, we got by but only just.

I didn’t have the new clothes, trendy gadgets and objects that allowed me to blend in with the cool kids. I was also a bit of a nerd. It was not cool to be a nerd in the 80’s (I get the feeling though that the Hipster movement has made it cool to be a little nerdish now though – go hipsters!)

When I was about twelve I realised that I could not change this family that I was born into. However, I looked at my intelligent, motivated and accomplished mother and wondered why she would choose that life. It made me wonder a little about love and why people get married. I knew very little of other people’s home circumstances. Our money situation was all that I knew – and I knew that it wasn’t all that much fun.

Somewhere along that path I also figured out that I was the only person who could move in a direction away from the continuation of the family life that was all I had ever known.

Now you may think – well this story isn’t all that inspiring. And you would be right.

BUT, it was seeing into my mothers life and growing up in the post feminist 80’s, where opportunities for women were beginning to improve and we were told we could do anything, that showed me that I wasn’t limited – that I could soar and fly away into my own life and create my own new family life based on my rules.

I believe that this realization was one of the most important of my life. Who knows what direction I would have gone in had I not had this realization. I know that some of the decisions I have made along the way have not been the best, but I also  know how lucky I was to be brought up by someone who enabled me to go out and do what I needed to do to be better than what I knew growing up.

Even though we had very little money, we didn’t ever want for anything – being a mother now myself  and knowing what I know now – I am sure that sacrifices were made to allow me to participate in music lessons, athletics and gymnastics – not to mention every other fleeting extracurricular pursuit I took a fancy to.

I don’t think that as children we could possibly have imagined these small  guiding steps that our parents give to us – whether we know it at the time or not.  I was encouraged to fulfill my potential at every step of the way. For this I am eternally grateful to my Mum – as she was the driver. She gave me wings to soar.

aaname

Who has been the most influential person in your life to date? Was it one of your parents or someone else?

Author: Andjxx

Through this blog I hope to inspire and motivate mums to raise happy and healthy kids and be happy in themselves in the most organic way possible. I write about wellness, attachment parenting, yoga and meditation, and whole food nutrition for both busy mums and families. I am a mam of two sweet boys, H Boy and Baby B. We live life with a healthy and natural approach to living and support breastfeeding, baby wearing, baby led solids, and an overall down to earth way of life. I hope you enjoy our world!

One thought on “Who Inspires You?

  1. Moms are truly amazing, and mine, with all the ups and downs, is the very best:) Thanks for your post!

Share the love and tell me what you think! !

