A life of health and wellness…with kids!

The Slippers that nearly Weren’t.

9 Comments

My Big Boy

Tomorrow marks the Big Boy’s first day at preschool and yes – I am still frantically running around trying to organise things. Yesterday the classroom teacher hosted a meet and greet morning tea for the parents and children. Even though not all of those children will be there on the same day as H Boy, it was good to see who else was in his classroom. Some of the parents I already knew from playgroup – some I did not.

One of the requirements of the school is that the children have a pair of soft soled shoes to wear indoors while in the classroom. I have ummed and ahhed about what I would do in the way of shoes for at least the past 2 months. I have searched Pinterest, Ravelry and the net in general for a pattern that wasn’t too hard and spoke to my creative soul. The other requirement – the pattern had to be freely available on the interweb.

I did find quite a few links to really cute indoor shoes but you see I had one other requirement – they had to be minimal fuss. I just couldn’t handle anything too fussy right now. So yesterday I had decided to just buy some from the school shop. However, as it wold happen, the school shop was right out of H Boy’s size! Of course they were – there is 5 classes of kids who are 4 starting at the school this week!

I was being too fussy.

When it came to the crunch and I was forced to craft a pair of slippers I just got in and did it.

Waldorf Indoor shoes

They are 100% wool, crochet with a double strand of worsted weight (8 ply) yarn. The pattern I used was actually a tutorial on You Tube. It can be found at this link . The pattern was really simple and fast to work up and because it was so fast I am not really worried about him damaging or wearing through his indoor shoes – because I can just whip up another pair.

As there are wooden floors in the classroom, I wanted to put something on the base of the slippers to reduce the amount of slip and to also give them a bit more wear time before they become threadbare. So this is what I did:

Waldorf Indoor Shoes

With grippy soles

I cut down some patches that I purchased in the local sewing store that are designed to be elbow patches for mens jackets. I then used a Tailors Awl to punch some more holes in the parts where I had cut. I then sewed the pates onto the base of the slippers – instant grip.

Funny thing is he loves them and has hardly taken them off since they were finished. I can see that I am going to have to make another pair for home.

Baby B also want’s a pair now – he thew a tantrum saying “Slipper…Slipper…Slipper” over and over. His are in the process of being made now – Orange and Blue.

Author: Andjxx

Through this blog I hope to inspire and motivate mums to raise happy and healthy kids and be happy in themselves in the most organic way possible. I write about wellness, attachment parenting, yoga and meditation, and whole food nutrition for both busy mums and families. I am a mam of two sweet boys, H Boy and Baby B. We live life with a healthy and natural approach to living and support breastfeeding, baby wearing, baby led solids, and an overall down to earth way of life. I hope you enjoy our world!

9 thoughts on “The Slippers that nearly Weren’t.

  1. Hee, hee love that he has hardly taken them off!! And that Baby B would love some 🙂 They look great! I really like the colours 🙂 Well done! Meanwhile, I think the ones I’ve made aren’t quite the right size… hopefully they will do few a few weeks and I will work on another pair!

  2. they are so cute… you might have stumbled across a market biz here!

  3. God you are so clever, I could never make anything so cute and practical. I agree you should sell them.

  4. They look great I think I will make some for our children for Winter at home
    Blessings
    Gae

  5. Our French Canadian Grandmamam makes everyone in the fam a pair of these slippers every year. They’re awesome!

Share the love and tell me what you think! !

