A life of health and wellness…with kids!

Welcome to a fresh new world…

2 Comments

Image

 

 

I decided to start this blog as a little bit of motivation  as well as a way to record all of the healthy treats and tidbits that I come across as I try to bring my family up in the most healthy way possible in this world of Health challenges.

I wouldn’t say that I have ever been ‘unhealthy’ in my approach to life – I have always exercised and good health is very important to me – it is high up there in my set of personal values. However, in spite of this I haven’t always had the most healthy approach to eating and while I don’t eat crap all the time, I did have a small soft drink addiction and was known to indulge in some serious junk food comfort eating at times.

I took the head in the sand approach in a way as I was relatively trim and didn’t have any health issues to speak of – I could pretty much eat whatever I liked and no gain weight. And so I did.

But then I had children, and I became a little more interested in the whole world of eating – I had to look after someone else’s health now as well as my own! and not only that, I had to teach them the habits of life long success in making the right food choices – increasingly difficult in the fat free, chemical laden world that we live in today. I have spent the last three years researching the ways in which I can best feed my growing family and that is what I want to write about on this blog. That’s the healthy Kids part. Breastfeeding, getting those pesky toddlers to eat something..anything..and possibly vegetable matter, the fun (and mess!) of Baby Led Solids

I had to teach them to love to eat the most natural foods possible and that making food from scratch is rewarding and enjoyable.

So I have spent the past few years developing my thinking about my approach to healthy and natural living and have reached a point now where I really want to share it with others so that anyone else who might be a little lost in the world of natural parenting and everything that goes along with it might get a bit of a helping hand.

Around twelve months ago my husband was diagnosed with a neurological condition that has made our lives more difficult than it needs to be. I take medication for anxiety and mild depression that is partly due to my Type A, first-born child personality and partly due to the pressures of being a mama and working 4 days a week! Two more reasons to go down this path of reducing the toxicity in our lives. This is the Happy Mama Part. Yoga, Meditation, Babywearing, alternative therapies, Buddhism, Co-Sleeping – this is my world.

This was all before I started working one on one with people who were coping with major chronic illness – Leukaemia, Lymphoma, Myeloma and other cancer-like Blood disorders. Suddenly I have had my eyes opened to a whole realm of other good reasons to live this clean and healthy life.

So I have sworn off sugar and chucked out all the chemical laden cleaning and beauty products in our home. I am aiming to increase the amount of high quality fresh organic food that we consume by cooking from scratch and reducing our reliance on the prepackaged rubbish that is sold to us by the marketeers.

I do hope that you can join me on this blogging journey as I continue to learn and hopefully meet a great group of likeminded people!

Author: Andjxx

Through this blog I hope to inspire and motivate mums to raise happy and healthy kids and be happy in themselves in the most organic way possible. I write about wellness, attachment parenting, yoga and meditation, and whole food nutrition for both busy mums and families. I am a mam of two sweet boys, H Boy and Baby B. We live life with a healthy and natural approach to living and support breastfeeding, baby wearing, baby led solids, and an overall down to earth way of life. I hope you enjoy our world!

2 thoughts on “Welcome to a fresh new world…

  1. I’m looking forward to reading your posts to come. Welcome to the blogging world!

Share the love and tell me what you think! !

